skip to content

Staffordshire Fire & Rescue Service - Preventing, Protecting, Responding

New Fire and Rescue Authority Vice Chair

Cllr Len Bloomer was yesterday re-elected as the Fire and Rescue Authority Chairman, whilst Cllr Ross Irving was elected as the new Vice Chairman.

Conservative Councillor Len Bloomer enters his second year as Chairman whilst Conservative and Independent Alliance Councillor, Ross Irving, will take over as Vice Chairman from Cllr Barrie Mycock.

"I am delighted to be re-elected as Chairman of the Fire and Rescue Authority. I have thoroughly enjoyed the past year and I look forward to another exciting and challenging year with Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service."

Councillor Len Bloomer

Councillor Len Bloomer continued: "I also have the pleasure of welcoming onto the Authority, Cllr Ross Irving who will take up the position of Vice Chairman. His predecessor, Cllr Barrie Mycock did some fantastic work and I have every confidence that Mr Irving will do an equally good job."

Cllr Ross Irving commented: "I feel very honoured to be nominated into the position of Vice Chairman and I look forward to embracing the opportunities that this new role will bring. I join the Authority at a very exciting and busy time, particularly with the opening of the first new community fire stations later this year."

17 of the previous Fire and Rescue Authority members remain and a total of eight new members have been nominated by Staffordshire County Council and Stoke-on-Trent City Council.

They are as follows:-

Staffordshire County Council Members (19)

Cllr John Bernard

Cllr David Billson

Cllr Len Bloomer (Chairman)

Cllr Peter Davies

Cllr William Day

Cllr Ray Easton

Cllr Terry Finn

Cllr John Francis

Cllr Bob Fraser

Cllr Phil Jones

Cllr Ian Lawson

Cllr Geoffrey Morrison

Cllr Barrie Mycock

Cllr Jeremy Oates

Cllr Steve Povey

Cllr Robert Reade

Cllr Rex Roberts, OBE

Cllr Simon Tagg

Cllr John Wells

Stoke-on-Trent Council Members (6)

Cllr John Burgess

Cllr John Davis

Cllr Olwen Hamer

Cllr Ross Irving (Vice Chairman)

Cllr Javid Najmi

Cllr Mohammed Matloob