skip to content

Staffordshire Fire & Rescue Service - Preventing, Protecting, Responding

Training Courses

training session

You will, no doubt, be well aware of the potentially devastating effects of fires in the workplace in terms of lives lost, injuries, damage to property and the environment, and to the business continuity. Statistics show that most fires are preventable.

Staffordshire Fire & Rescue Service are now promoting OFQUAL accredited Fire Safety courses which offer lifelong qualification (subject to CPD).

Hear a selection of our customer testimonials.

To find out more information and to book onto a course ring: 01785 898656 or email: bst@staffordshirefire.gov.uk

Level 1 Fire Safety Awareness: Half day course:

This course replaces the role of the Fire Warden/Marshal

You will, no doubt, be well aware of the potentially devastating effects of fires in the workplace in terms of lives lost, injuries, damage to property and the environment, and to the business continuity. You may also be aware that it is believed that most fires are preventable.

The importance of fire safety in the workplace is underpinned by health and safety legislation that places a duty on employers to establish policies and procedures and ensure their employees receive appropriate training.

This course is designed for all employees as an introduction to fire awareness and is an excellent ingredient in the induction programme of new employees. It deals with how fires can occur and what to do in the event of a fire. The qualification also provides a foundation for those employees who want to develop their basic fire safety awareness in order to assist their employer by undertaking more specific fire safety roles in the workplace to manage fire risk (e.g. as fire wardens/marshals/stewards etc).

Successful candidates will be awarded a national level 1 qualification.

Syllabus
A range of subjects are covered including:

  • The common causes of fire
  • The behaviour of fire
  • Legislation (brief)
  • Responsibilities
  • Fire prevention
  • What to do if a fire breaks out
  • The Selection and Practical use fire extinguishers (Practical session outside)
  • Emergency evacuation procedures

Numbers
A maximum of 16 students are allowed and must be a minimum of 14 years of age and a certificate can be offered to all, subject to assessment.

A student cannot assume a responsibility in the workplace until they reach the age of 16, and then it is the employer’s responsibility to ensure that the student is suitable for that role

Time
0900hrs - 14:00hrs (4 ½ hours + ½ hour practical session outside)

Cost
Cost per person at Local Community Fire Station £75 per person - see below for dates and venue
In-house 6 people = £225, additional attendees £25 per person - please contact for availability

*Please note lunch is not provided*

April 2017
Mon 10 April Kidsgrove Community Fire Station Lower Ash Road Kidsgrove ST7 1DG
Wed 12 April Uttoxeter Community Fire Station Cheadle Road Uttoxeter ST14 7BY
Tues 25 April Rising Brook Community Fire Station Hesketh Road Rising Brook Stafford ST17 9NF

May 2017

Tues 2 May Penkridge Community Fire Station Boscomoor Lane Penkridge ST19 5NU
Wed 3 May Newcastle Community Fire Station Knutton Lane Newcastle ST5 2SL
Tues 16 May Lichfield Community Fire Station Birmingham Road Lichfield WS13 6HU
June 2017
Thurs 8 Jun Rugeley Community Fire Station Bryans Lane Rugeley WS15 2JN
Tues 13 Jun Hanley Community Fire Station Lower Bethesda Street Hanley ST1 3RP
Mon 19 Jun Tamworth Belgrave Community Fire Station Marlborough Way, Belgrave, Tamworth B77 2NW
Tues 27 Jun Sandyford Fire Station Marlborough Way off Reginald Mitchell Way Stoke-on-Trent ST6 5ED
July 2017
Wed 19 July Stone Community Fire Station The Fillybrooks Walton ST15 ODN
August 2017
Wed 9 Aug Longton Community Fire Station Uttoxeter Road Longton ST3 1NS
September 2017
Wed 20 Sept Cannock Community Fire Station Old Hednesford Road Cannock WS11 6LD
Wed 27 Sept Leek Community Fire Station Springfield Road Leek ST13 6LQ
October 2017
Mon 2 Oct Lichfield Community Fire Station Birmingham Road Lichfield WS13 6HU
Wed 4 Oct Newcastle Community Fire Station Knutton Lane Newcastle ST5 2SL
Mon 9 Oct Gnosall Community Fire Station Wharf Lane Gnosall ST20 0DB
Mon 23 Oct Tamworth Belgrave Community Fire Station Marlborough Way, Belgrave, Tamworth B77 2NW
November 2017
Tue 7 Nov Penkridge Community Fire Station Boscomoor Lane Penkridge ST19 5NU
Mon 20 Nov Burton Community Fire Station Moor Street, Burton-on-Trent DE14 3SU
Mon 27 Nov Burslem Community Fire Station, Hamil Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 1AJ
December 2017
Tues 12 Dec Rising Brook Community Fire Station Hesketh Road Rising Brook Stafford ST17 9NF
January 2018
Wed 17 Jan Hanley Community Fire Station Lower Bethesda Street Hanley ST1 3RP
Mon 29 Jan Stone Community Fire Station The Fillybrooks Walton ST15 ODN
Wed 31 Jan Bilbrook and Codsall Community Fire Station Duck Lane Codsall WV8 1HU
February 2018
Mon 12 Feb Cannock Community Fire Station Old Hednesford Road Cannock WS11 6LD
Tues 27 Feb Sandyford Fire Station Marlborough Way off Reginald Mitchell Way Stoke-on-Trent ST6 5ED
March 2018
Tues 6 Mar Rugeley Community Fire Station Bryans Lane Rugeley WS15 2JN
Wed 7 Mar Uttoxeter Community Fire Station Cheadle Road Uttoxeter ST14 7BY
Wed 14 Mar Leek Community Fire Station Springfield Road Leek ST13 6LQ

Level 2 Fire Safety: 1-day course


You will, no doubt, be well aware of the potentially devastating effects of fires in the workplace in terms of lives lost, injuries, damage to property and the environment, and to business continuity. You may also be aware that it is believed that most fires are preventable.

The importance of fire safety in the workplace is underpinned by health and safety legislation that places a duty on employers to establish policies and procedures and ensure their employees receive appropriate training.

This Fire Safety Training Course is designed for employees who want to develop their basic fire safety awareness in order to assist their employer by undertaking more specific fire safety roles in the workplace to manage and have a better understanding of fire risk management and assessments. Successful candidates will be awarded a national level 2 qualifications.

Syllabus

  • A range of subjects are covered including:
  • The common causes of fire
  • The behaviour of fire
  • Legislation (brief)
  • Responsibilities
  • Fire Prevention
  • The hazards and risks associated with fire in the workplace
  • Basic Fire Risk Assessments
  • How fire risk is controlled in the workplace
  • The role of the nominated fire warden
  • The principles and practice of fire safety management at work

Location
At your local community Fire Station or at Your Business subject to suitable facilities and numbers

Time
09:00hrs – 16:00hrs

Refreshments
Buffet lunch provided

Cost
Cost per person at Local Community Fire Station £150 per person - see below for dates and venue
In-house 6 @ £125 per person additional attendees £65 per person - please contact for availability

April 2017
Mon 3 April Leek Community Fire Station Springfield Road Leek ST13 6LQ
May 2017
Mon 15 May Cannock Community Fire Station Old Hednesford Road Cannock WS11 6LD
June 2017
Mon 12 June Burton Community Fire Station Moor Street Burton DE14 3SU
Wed 28 June Newcastle Community Fire Station Knutton Lane Newcastle ST5 2SL
August 2017
Wed 2 August Penkridge Community Fire Station Boscomoor Lane Penkridge ST19 5NU
Wed 16 August Uttoxeter Community Fire Station Cheadle Road Uttoxeter ST14 7BY
October 2017
Mon 16 October Hanley Community Fire Station Lower Bethesda Street Hanley ST1 3RP
November 2017
Wed 15 November Rugeley Community Fire Station Bryans Lane Rugeley WS15 2JN
December 2017
Mon 4 December Lichfield Community Fire Station Birmingham Road Lichfield WS13 6HU
January 2018
Tue 16 January Sandyford Community Fire Station Marlborough Way off Reginald Mitchell Way Stoke-on-Trent
ST6 5ED
February 2018
Mon 26 February Stone Community Fire Station The Fillybrooks Walton ST15 ODN
March 2018
Tue 13 March Tamworth Belgrave Community Fire Station Marlborough Way, Belgrave, Tamworth B77 2NW

FAA Level 2 Award in Emergency First Aid at Work


Where an organisation’s risk assessment of First Aid needs identifies that there is a requirement for Emergency First Aid at Work practitioners, then this national Award in Emergency First Aid at Work satisfies the requirements of the regulatory body for First Aid - the Health and Safety Executive (HSE).

All learners will have the skills and knowledge to provide the organisation with Emergency First Aider’s that can provide treatment to their casualties in a prompt, safe and effective manner.

Syllabus

  • A range of subjects are covered including:-
  • Responsibilities and reporting
  • Resuscitation and AED awareness
  • Burns
  • Assessment of the situation
  • Anatomy
  • Choking
  • Dealing with an unresponsive casualty
  • Minor injuries
  • Epilepsy
  • Basic hygiene in First Aid
  • Bleeding control
  • Shock

Certification
Assessment is ongoing by the instructor, along with a multiple choice question paper, and a three year qualification will be issued to those who satisfy the criteria. In addition, the HSE strongly recommend that all students undergo an annual refresher programme of three hours

Numbers
A maximum of 12 students are allowed and must be a minimum of 14 years of age and a certificate can be offered to all, subject to assessment.

A student cannot assume a responsibility in the workplace until they reach the age of 16, and then it is the employer’s responsibility to ensure that the student is suitable for that role.

The certificate will expire as dated on the certificate, irrespective of age.

Location
At your Local Community Fire Station, dates and venue above

Cost
Cost per person at Local Community Fire Station £75 per person

*Please note lunch is not provided*

April 2017
Tue 4 April Lichfield Community Fire Station Birmingham Road Lichfield WS13 6HU
Wed 5 April Penkridge Community Fire Station Boscomoor Lane Penkridge ST19 5NU
Tues 11 April Loggerheads Community Fire Station Market Drayton Road Loggerheads Market Drayton
TF9 4BT
May 2017
Tue 23 May Tamworth Belgrave Community Fire Station Marlborough Way, Belgrave, Tamworth B77 2NW
Wed 24 May Bilbrook and Codsall Community Fire Station Duck Lane Codsall WV8 1HU
June 2017
Tue 20 June Burslem Community Fire Station, Hamil Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 1AJ
July 2017
Mon 17 July Cannock Community Fire Station Old Hednesford Road Cannock WS11 6LD
August 2017
Tue 1 August Hanley Community Fire Station Lower Bethesda Street Hanley ST1 3RP
Mon 7 August Gnosall Community Fire Station Wharf Lane Gnosall ST20 0DB
Mon 14 August Burton Community Fire Station Moor Street, Burton-on-Trent DE14 3SU
September 2017
Mon 18 Sept Lichfield Community Fire Station Birmingham Road Lichfield WS13 6HU
Mon 25 Sept Stone Community Fire Station The Fillybrooks Walton ST15 ODN
October 2017
Tue 3 October Sandyford Community Fire Station Marlborough Way off Reginald Mitchell Way Stoke-on-Trent ST6 5ED
Tue 10 October Rugeley Community Fire Station Bryans Lane Rugeley WS15 2JN
Tue 17 October Tamworth Belgrave Community Fire Station Marlborough Way, Belgrave, Tamworth B77 2NW
November 2017
Tue 14 November Leek Community Fire Station Springfield Road Leek ST13 6LQ
Wed 22 November Kidsgrove Community Fire Station Lower Ash Road Kidsgrove ST7 1DG
Tue 28 November Hanley Community Fire Station Lower Bethesda Street Hanley ST1 3RP
December 2017
Mon 11 Dec Cannock Community Fire Station Old Hednesford Road Cannock WS11 6LD
January 2018
Mon 15 January Penkridge Community Fire Station Boscomoor Lane Penkridge ST19 5NU
Tue 30 January Newcastle Community Fire Station Knutton Lane Newcastle ST5 2SL
February 2018
Tue 13 February Rugeley Community Fire Station Bryans Lane Rugeley WS15 2JN
Mon 19 February Burton Community Fire Station Moor Street, Burton-on-Trent DE14 3SU
March 2018
Mon 5 March Longton Community Fire Station Uttoxeter Road Longton ST3 1NS
Mon 12 March Stone Community Fire Station The Fillybrooks Walton ST15 ODN

Evacuation Equipment Training Course


This course is designed to provide bespoke training on the procedures that relate to the use of evacuation equipment.