skip to content

Staffordshire Fire & Rescue Service - Preventing, Protecting, Responding

MORE Awards Reward Heroes

The Staffordshire public are being asked to vote for their Fire Service champion of 2009.

Launched in 2008, Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service’s MORE Staff Awards recognise outstanding contribution and dedication to the profession.

"It is only right the public decide on this award because it is their safety we dedicate ourselves to each and every day."

Peter Dartford, Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive, Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service

There are 11 categories overall but the winner of the publicly nominated Fire and Rescue Professional of the Year award will have demonstrated a real community spirit or supported people to overcome difficult situations beyond the call of duty.

Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive of Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service, Peter Dartford, said: "It is only right the public decide on this award because it is their safety we dedicate ourselves to each and every day.

"People can nominate individuals from the Fire Service or a team, anyone they would like to say thank you to for making a valuable and positive contribution to their lives.

"In times of trouble or distress we aim to provide our community with a service which is professional, dignified and compassionate to the situation in hand.

"Whether it be someone in Control keeping a member of the public calm and assured over the telephone while an incident takes place, support staff who go the extra mile to build valuable community relationships or a firefighter or crew that have been tireless and brave in the face of great adversity, we remain focussed on being the best we can be.

"The Fire and Rescue Professional of the Year award gives members of the public the chance to give something back."

Last year, the Moorlands Duke of Edinburgh Co-ordinators scooped the accolade for their commitment and enthusiasm in organising the Moorland Duke of Edinburgh Student Firefighter courses.

Watch Manager, Mick Flannigan said: "We were all very excited to win this and so pleased.

"But it wasn’t just about us. It was for everyone involved, particularly the students who took part in the course."

Members of the public can make nominations through the Service’s website, by collecting a nomination form from their local fire station or by requesting a form on 08451 22 11 55. The closing date for nominations is 19th February 2010.

The remaining ten categories are nominated for internally, with two of the awards going to external organisations. These include one for a business which has assisted the Fire Service by contributing to fire safety and another for a young person or group of young people who have done likewise.

The eight internally nominated categories are included as follows:

Communicator of the Year

Your Partner of Choice

The Green Award Fundraiser of the Year

Fire Service Professional (staff recognition)

Service to The Community

Outstanding Contribution to The Leadership Message

Diversity Champion Award

Young Persons Award

Innovation or Improvement Award

 Sonja Oatley award for member Involvement in the Community.

The awards ceremony will take place on Friday, April 30th at The Moat House, Stoke-on-Trent.